Chocolate Black Bean Protein Brownies

With Halloween coming up, it’s easy to become tempted by the overflowing candy bowl.. MEANT for the trick-or-treaters. For me, candy and sweets of any kind have always been a temptation. Rather than deprive myself though, I’ve learned to transform some of my favorite desserts into healthy treats! That’s not to say I don’t have a splurge once in awhile of something truly decadent.. but doing that every day would not only put on pounds, it would do damage to my health. I’ve seen many “black bean brownie” recipes before, so I was tempted to create my own! I used the skeleton of a  “Pumpkin Spice Protein Bar” recipe I found on Spark People and changed some of the foundational ingredients to create these truly moist, delicious black bean protein brownies! They’re packed with fiber and protein which leaves you feeling full and satisfied. Let me know what you think! Enjoy! =)

CHOCOLATE BLACK BEAN PROTEIN BROWNIES

WET INGREDIENTS:

  • 4 Egg Whites
  • 1-15 oz Can Black Beans
  • 1 Cup Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk
  • 1-4oz Organic Unsweetened AppleSauce
  • 3/4 Cup Water

DRY INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/2 Cup Xylitol Brown Sugar
  • 1 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 2 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1 1/2  Cup Stone Ground Whole Wheat Flour
  • 1/2 Cup Organic Coconut Flour
  • 2 Scoops Chocolate Casein
  • 1/2 Cup Unsweetened Baking Cocoa

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat oven to 350. Spray a 9×13 dish with non-stick spray. Combine wet ingredients in a blender or food processor and mix until somewhat smooth. Combine dry ingredients in a large bowl and mix well. Fold in wet ingredients and stir until all lumps are gone. Pour into dish and bake for about 30 minutes. Cut into 24 squares.

Nutrition Per Brownie:

  • 80 Calories
  • 1 gram Fat
  • 12 grams Carbohydrates
  • 5 grams Fiber
  • 1 gram Sugar
  • 6 grams Protein