Easy and Healthy Protein Pancakes

I remember growing up, there wasn’t  a single, solitary morning that my mom didn’t have pancakes, waffles or french toast prepared for breakfast. Most of the time, we ate well… especially for vegetarians. My mom always cooked wonderful, healthy, homemade soups, lasagnas, pastas and other decadent dishes. But breakfast was one of those consistently BAD meals. I remember having 3 or more pancakes, doused in syrup with a half-stick of butter each and every day.

In fact I was KNOWN for my butter consumption. When I would go for sleep-overs at my friend’s houses, I can still remember the look of shock and horror on their mother’s faces as I spread an inch thick layer of butter over just about anything. Sometimes I even made butter sandwiches. You heard me… BUTTER sandwiches. Butter + Bread and THAT was IT.

My parents insisted each and every day that I use less butter. “You’re going to clog your arteries!!!” “That’s so bad for you!” In fact, it got so bad, that in elementary school, I vowed to eat less butter as one of my New Year’s Resolutions:

Savannah's Butter Problem

Thankfully since those days, I’ve gotten control of my butter consumption. In fact, I don’t even really miss it! But what I do miss on occasion is pancakes! That’s why I have experimented day in and day out until I perfected a protein pancake recipe. There are so many online, and for the life of me I couldn’t get them right. But this one has finally won me over.

Simple Protein Pancakes:

  • 1 Scoop Whey (flavor of choice, I used Vanilla)
  • 2 Egg Whites
  • 1/4 Cup Oats
  • 1/2 Large Banana (substitutions below)
  • 1 TB Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk
  • 1/8 teaspoon of Baking Powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon of Cinnamon (optional)

Directions:

Put all ingredients into blender or magic bullet and blend until smooth. Allow the batter to set for about 5 minutes. Heat up a skillet or pan and spray with non-stick spray. Pour batter onto skillet (batter makes 2-3 normal sized pancakes). Let it cook for about 2-3 minutes or until bubbles appear. Flip and cook for an additional 2-3 minutes until cooked fully.

Alternative Options:

If you aren’t a fan of banana, you can sub this for 1/4 cup pureed pumpkin, fat free plain greek yogurt or nonfat cottage cheese.
Top with whatever you want. I recommend a natural nut butter like almond butter or peanut butter. You could also top with fresh fruit, sugarfree jam, honey, coconut butter, maple syrup or sugarfree syrup. Get creative!

IMG_1930